Comparisons

Userpilot alternatives

· Prices and facts as published by each vendor on

Userpilot is a product adoption platform: flows, checklists, surveys, analytics and a Resource Center that puts all of it in a panel inside your app. Starter is $299 a month for up to 2,000 monthly active users, Growth starts at $849 a month with 10,000 included, and the Resource Center is a Growth feature. Their pricing page shows no monthly or annual toggle and states no billing basis, so these figures are quoted as the page prints them.

If you arrived here looking for an alternative, there is a good chance the reason is the same one that brings most people: you wanted the help content, and the help content is the part Userpilot does not store.

The Resource Center points at your help, it does not hold it

The Resource Center is a container of modules: a flow, a checklist, a survey, a link, a video, or custom JavaScript, each with its own targeting. For knowledge base search it connects to external providers, with eight supported including Zendesk, Intercom, Freshdesk, Document360, HubSpot, Salesforce, Zoho Desk and Google. Videos are hosted elsewhere too, on YouTube, Vimeo, Loom or similar.

That is a sound design for an adoption tool. It also means the arrangement you end up with looks like this:

Three places, three bills, and the same sentence maintained in more than one of them.

What the alternatives actually change

If you want the in-app panel and nothing else changes, the comparable tools are the ones in the same category, and the pricing comparison at four sizes is the useful page: UserGuiding from $174 a month billed yearly with its own knowledge base, Product Fruits from $149 billed monthly or $111 billed annually, Chameleon from $279 for 2,000 tracked users with HelpBar on its Growth plan, HelpHero from $55 a month billed monthly with tours but no articles.

If you want one place for the help content itself, the question is not which adoption platform to buy but where the text lives. A support suite such as Intercom or Zendesk holds articles and has a widget. A headless CMS holds structured content and lets your app render it. HelpCCMS holds topics with steps and warnings and delivers them to your own components by key, for €40 a month with no user limit.

If the driver was the bill, note where the money goes. At 5,000 monthly active users, Userpilot's Growth plan is the entry point for the Resource Center and starts at $849 a month. Why in-app help vendors charge per MAU explains why that scales the way it does, and it is not an accusation: their code runs in your page, which is exactly what lets them target a module per user.

Where the help content lives, per tool

ToolStores help articlesShows help in your appEntry price
UserpilotNo, links to external knowledge basesYes, Resource Center on Growth$299/mo, billing basis not stated; Growth from $849/mo
UserGuidingYes, knowledge baseYesFrom $174/mo billed yearly
IntercomYes, ArticlesYes, Messenger$29 per seat/month, billed annually
ChameleonHelpBar surfaces content and searchYes$279 for 2,000 MTU, billing basis not stated
HelpHeroNoTours, checklists and hotspots$55/mo billed monthly, 1,000 MAU
HelpCCMSYes, as topicsYour own components, by key€40/mo, no user limit

Prices as published by each vendor on 22 September 2026.

When to stay with Userpilot

Stay when you are buying the platform rather than the panel: segmentation, product analytics, surveys and flows targeted per module, run by a team that does not want to ask developers for anything. That is a real product and this page is not an argument against it.

The question worth asking before you renew is narrower. If you removed the tours and the surveys, would you still be paying for the Resource Center? If the answer is yes, what you need is a home for help content, and that is a different purchase.

How to manage in-app help sets out the levels that choice runs through.

Sources

All read on 22 September 2026.